TheBCALSpot

Artist Clark Stoeckley Creates @ BCAL

Posted on: December 3, 2008


Here’s short, but informative interview with a new talented teaching artist Clark Stoeckley. He was interviewed on Tuesday, December 2nd at BCAL as he worked with students Shainn and Hevita on his new mural projects at BCAL.

mural3

BCAL: What are you doing at BCAL?

Clark Stoeckley: I’m painting murals, whatever BCAL needs me to paint, i’ll paint. The students and I will work together designing and painting murals. The ideas start as paper designs that we turn into full scale wall works (see example below).

mural11

BCAL: How long will you be here?

CS: Right now, I plan to be here until the end of the year to start. Next year we plan to do more murals throughout the BCAL space.

 

BCAL: Why are you here and not a museum or gallery?

CS: I go to school at Brooklyn College, I live in the neighborhood and more importantly, I love working with kids. I travel the country teaching kids how-to create murals where they live.

 

BCAL: Can you tell us more about your teaching technique?

CS: Mostly, I’ve been teaching one day classes with schools and colleges for sometime. Students can use these skills learning graphic design. The better the design, the better its sells. We’ll work on projects from logos to graphc design.

 

During the mural project, Clark worked with BCAL students Shiann and Hevita.

mural5

BCAL: What do you like about working on the mural project?

Shainn: I’m leaving my mark on BCAL and I like givng back to the (BCAL) community.

mural4

Hevita: THiis WAS TiiRiiNG BUT iiNTERESTiiNG 2 DO…

Leave a Reply

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

Flickr Photos

Categories

